Never Never Never Give Up!

That’s what’s on my refrigerator and what has been my motto for a few years now. I did give up some things: sloth-like behavior, pasta (mostly), heavy carbs, and yes: I gave up Weight Watchers.

I gave up Weight Watchers because I couldn’t afford to keep paying $42.95 a month for something I wasn’t using. It is a great program, I’m just in a different frame of mind, I needed a change, and so I got it.

I feel reborn.

If I look back even two months ago, I was struggling so hard and so frustrated. I wanted to lose weight, but I also didn’t want to put in the work to lose it. I wanted a quick fix. But here’s the reality: there is no quick fix. No magic pill. No potion. I finally realized what I needed to do: eat less (and eat high quality food), and move more.

I also realize that a lot of it is in my head. Like at work. At least once a week (usually more) there are goodies in the breakroom. I used to have to have whatever it was, even if it wasn’t worth the calories, I ate it. But now, I’m different. There has been a mental switch. I didn’t have any of the goodies today, nor any time within the last two weeks.

Today, I was feeling snacky so badly. I thought about my day and knew I wasn’t truly hungry, my hunger was mostly due to an upsetting personal matter. I asked myself if I was hungry enough to eat an apple? The answer was no. If I would have answered yes, I would have said, “Okay, drink 12 ounces of water and check back in 10 minutes. If you are still hungry, you can eat that apple.”

It was really honoring myself.

For the first time in a very long time, I am treasuring myself and my body. I am appreciating that this week, I am lifting more weights than last week. And I’m not focused on the scale. I’m focused on getting stronger and healthier. Yes, it will be nice when the scale moves (and it did this week and last), but my focus is on other things.

I guess it all boils down to this: I wasn’t ready before. Now, I am. I’m committed. I’m focused. And I’m going to do it this time.

TIP:  I’ve been listening to the podcast, “Tips From the Scale” for the past week or two. It’s very motivating and I get a lot out of it. I highly recommend it.

