This is a picture of my NSV book. NSV stands for “non-scale victory” and it is any positive achievement that has nothing to do with the scale. For instance, maybe today you walked 3 blocks instead of 2. Maybe instead of eating a cheeseburger and fries at the fast food joint, you chose a salad instead. Those are NSVs.

I got this book for my birthday one year from my dear mother-in-law. The text on the cover reads, “Always remember you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, smarter than you think, and twice as beautiful as you ever imagined”. Nice, huh? I love it.

In my NSV book, I list all the NSVs that happened that day. When I climbed my first mountain, that went into the book. When I brushed my teeth after lunch and avoided eating chocolate because of that, that went into the book. Be them large or small, all NSVs go into the book.

I don’t write in it every day, I often get busy and forget. But I love looking back through the book and seeing my NSVs, especially when I’m not doing well.  It’s a boost to see my progress.

You don’t need a fancy book to keep a log of NSVs. I started off keeping them in a Google doc so that I could access it anywhere. I just made a list of NSVs for the day.

