I like to set myself up for the week as well as I can. This means that on Friday night, I spend about 30 minutes picking out dinners and making a grocery list for the following week. Then on Saturday, I go the grocery stores (I go to 4 to save money) for about 2 hours. When Sunday rolls around, I cook as many of those dinners as possible. It’s a well-oiled machine.

BUT…

If one of these items doesn’t get done, for instance if I am busy Saturday and can’t go to the grocery stores until Sunday, my whole plan goes off rail. I’m too tired from shopping to cook on the same day. During the week, I end up cooking at 6:30 p.m. when I get home from work and the gym, already tired, and there is a good chance that I’m either going to go to the grocery store (which is right across the street) and get something easier to make (and unhealthy— I’m looking at you, Velveeta Shells & Cheese and hot dogs) or get take out (also unhealthy).  I’m playing the odds, taking a gamble, and the odds are not in my favor. The plan must not fail!

This whole process can be pretty time consuming but it is fairly bullet-proof when it happens as planned. Think about it: if your dinners were already cooked, wouldn’t you be less likely to eat off plan? How nice would it be to just come home from work and put something in the microwave? It’s nice.

This week, I chose recipes from Lose It!’s new premium feature, The How.  The How gives a weekly meal plan of 5 recipes. Here is this week’s plan:

Saturday night: Garlicky Beef Stir Fry (The How recipe, you have to be a member to access it)
Sunday: Bean, Kale, and Sausage Soup (The How recipe) + bread
Monday: Grilled Lemon Pepper Scallops (The How recipe) + steamed broccoli
Tuesday: Spicy Chicken Tenders (The How recipe) + Spiralized Garlic-Paprika Sweet Potato “Fries”
Wednesday: roasted asparagus + Texas Chicken Quesadillas
Thursday: Chili Rellenos Casserole + steamed broccoli

Friday will most likely be pita pizzas. Lunches will be leftovers from the night before’s dinner. I try to pick different recipes every week, I only repeat recipes about every two months.

 

