I was listening to a podcast the other day and the host was raving about this book called “Lean Habits For Lifelong Weight Loss: Mastering 4 Core Eating Behaviors to Stay Slim Forever“. He was interviewing the author, Georgie Fear, who is a registered dietician. She appeared very smart and knowledgeable, so I bought the book for my Kindle.

The book isn’t a diet plan or a fad diet, it is science-based habits that are common among lean people. These habits are about your relationships with food. You are supposed to read each habit and incorporate it into your life, not moving on to the next habit until the one you are working on is fully part of your daily life. She recommends a minimum of 14-days of practicing each habit before moving on.

I am on the first habit: Eat 3 to 4 meals per day with no snacking in between.

It makes me a bit anxious even thinking of it. I’ve always heard to eat every 3 to 4 hours. I eat, usually within my calorie budget, whenever I am slightly hungry, which is between 2 and 3 hours from the last time I ate. I eat healthy things, but those add up. Here are the reasons that this habit is supposed to work:

  1. It helps you be more satisfied. According to a study that compared 6 meals per day and 3 meals per day (the same amount of food just different eating increments), the 3 meals per day group were more satisfied. This is thought to be because the amount of food in the 6 meals a day wasn’t enough to trigger the satiated hormone.
  2. It helps you lose fat.
  3. It will help me consume less calories.
  4. It will reset my hunger and fullness cues.
  5. It will cause me to burn more fat and less carbs.

The book suggests you track your progress in the habits somehow, either in an Excel spreadsheet, or in a habit app. I found a habit app called Rewire that is really cool that I’m going to use. It allows you to track your progress, set a reward, and list the reasons why you are trying to make whatever you are tracking a habit.

The thing that is going to make this habit hard is that I share an office with someone that snacks constantly, approximately every hour. Luckily she has started eating healthier things, so that will make me less tempted, but she used to get tempting food from the cafe and it was hell for me.

It’s ultimately up to me what to eat and when to eat it, but I’m going to give the habits in this book a try. Why not? By the way, I’m down a pound since last week, and 1% body fat since two weeks ago.

