One of the most important things that you can do at the beginning of your weight loss journey is to find your “why”. Why? Because it’s your secret motivational weapon. Let’s just say you’ve made it through the honeymoon phase of weight loss…you might have lost some weight, and the scale is no longer budging. You want to throw in the towel, but you’ve already found your “WHY”. You think about it, maybe your why is to lose weight to fit into a swimsuit this summer. Maybe it’s to lower your cholesterol number. Whatever it is, dig deep and think about it. Think about your why every day.

I’ve been on a weight loss journey since 2008 and I just now found my WHY. It is this: I want to join the roller derby in my town. I’ve always liked roller derby and thought it would be a lot of fun, but I never thought about it seriously because I’m overweight and couldn’t handle the physical activity. But wait…I can.  I can lose some fat and get in condition to play in the derby and that is just what I am going to do! I printed out the picture of a roller derby skate that you see above, and I put a copy in my wallet and a copy on my wall by my desk at work. I also put the date that I want to lose 40 lbs towards this goal on it: November 14th. It has already stopped me from snacking at work.

I also practice visualization of this goal. I imagine myself attending practice, working out, and skating in a bout (the games are called bouts). I imagine what I would look like and I can see all of this really clearly. I think about it at least once a day.

My husband sent me this buzzfeed article. It tells what kinds of things you need to do to get in shape for roller derby. Things like burpees, HIIT training, mountain climbers, short bursts of high energy activity.  I already do HIIT workouts on the treadmill.  I just need to step it up a bit.

I found my WHY. I know my HOW. I just need to do it!

