Today was a confusing day, success-wise.  I started out rockstar mode: I got up at 4:20, had coffee, and went to the gym and did all but 1 exercise of my weightlifting routine. I killed it!  I came home, made a healthy smoothie, and drank that. I packed a healthy breakfast and lunch.  Aces, right? Well…

Then I got to work and that is where things kind of fell apart. At about 8:45, I was “hungry” and decided to have a Kind bar for 150 calories. Not the end of the world, but I’m not supposed to be snacking in between meals per the Lean Habits book that I am reading. I’ve done okay on that up until today. After I had my Kind bar, I was determined not to snack and I decided I would forfeit my breakfast since I had the Kind bar. That’s when I went in the break room and discovered “chocolate covered super fruits” from Costco sitting on the table for all to have. I don’t know what got into me, I wasn’t hungry since I just had that bar, but I grabbed a palm full and went on my way.

I had a healthy lunch (spaghetti squash and marinara meat sauce) and then two hours later, decided I was hungry again and had one of those Sargento Balanced Break snack packs for 180 calories. But that wasn’t the end, no, not even close. I also had some more chocolate covered super fruits.

I went to the gym after work and did some cardio on a bike. Came home and had what I should have thrown out yesterday after I ate some of it: Kaukauna Cheese spread and reduced-fat Ritz. Gah.

What did I learn from all of this?

  1. when you think you are hungry, drink 16 ounces of water.  If you are still hungry after 10 minutes, eat the breakfast you brought. If you aren’t in the mood to eat that, you aren’t really hungry.
  2. I don’t do well with people telling me I can’t do something (I’m looking at you, Georgie Fear and your Lean Habits book!). This might work for some people, but it didn’t work for me.
  3. That’s not to say I’m giving up on Lean Habits, I’m just modifying this one for me: I’m going to hold out as long as I can before I have a healthy snack.
  4. Stop bringing cr@p into the house. You know if it is here, you will eat it.

What’s the aftermath of it all? I have 335 calories left for dinner thanks to the biking. I’m done beating myself up about it, that’s not going to solve anything. Lesson learned.

So that I am not ending on a negative note, I want to report that I am down 1.6 lbs this week! So there’s that bit of goodness. 🙂

